Saturday, June 30, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - King of Pentacles


Friday, June 29, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Queen of Pentacles


Thursday, June 28, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Knight of Pentacles


Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Flashbomb Rhombus


Spinoolean Tarot - Page of Pentacles


A Rose Arose

This is one of those "anyone can do that" abstract pictures. This image leapt into my mind's eye fully formed and titled. It took only a few moments to create in Illustrator.

Is it art?

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Ten of Pentacles


Monday, June 25, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Nine of Pentacles


Sunday, June 24, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Eight of Pentacles


Saturday, June 23, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Seven of Pentacles


Friday, June 22, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Six of Pentacles


Thursday, June 21, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Five of Pentacles


Wednesday, June 20, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Four of Pentacles


Tuesday, June 19, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Three of Pentacles


Monday, June 18, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Deuce of Pentacles


Sunday, June 17, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Ace of Pentacles


Saturday, June 16, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - King of Wands


Friday, June 15, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Queen of Wands


Thursday, June 14, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Knight of Wands


Wednesday, June 13, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Page of Wands


Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Ten of Wands


Sunday, June 10, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Eight of Wands


Saturday, June 9, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Seven of Wands


Spinoolean Tarot - Nine of Wands


Friday, June 8, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Six of Wands


Thursday, June 7, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Five of Wands


Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Mars is Heaven


An excerpt from The Martian Chronicles:

"Well," said the captain, "it's simply that we never thought we'd find a thing like this on Mars."

"And now you've found it. I dare say there's lots on every planet that'll show you God's infinite ways."

"Is this Heaven?" asked Hinkston.

"Nonsense, no. It's a world and we get a second chance. Nobody told us why. But then nobody told us why we were on Earth, either. That other Earth, I mean. The one you came from. How do we know there wasn't another before that one?"

"A good question," said the captain.

~Ray Bradbury, "Mars is Heaven."

--o--

A dear old friend of mine who never knew me died today, leaving a hole in the world that no one else can ever fill. My Dad introduced us when I was a kid and I was ever in awe of the places we went together -- from October to Indiana to Mars. I will miss you dearly, Ray.

Spinoolean Tarot - Four of Wands


Tuesday, June 5, 2012

La hora magical

"The magic hour" is one of my canned phrases. When my friend Jason repeated it back to me in Spanish, I thought the sound of it was so musical that it had to be a drawing. It's all the more fitting with today's rare astronomical event -- the transit of Venus. Today there actually is a magic hour.

Spinoolean Tarot - Three of Wands


Monday, June 4, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Deuce of Wands


Sunday, June 3, 2012

Spinoolean Tarot - Ace of Wands

My recent forays into non-representational drawing made me wonder: what would the Tarot look like if I stopped trying to make the cards entirely representational. What if, instead of a hand holding a wand, I made an object that could be construed as a hand?

This is what happened.

Over the next ten or so weeks, I will be developing a new Tarot deck from the ground up: The Spinoolean Tarot. It is the first work to intentionally bear the name of this venue, my current artistic endeavor. I'm using the Rider Tarot Deck published by US Games Systems as a model for the cards, content, and layout. Expect diversions, however. Lots of them.

(During the writing of the text for this blog, including the subject, I have mistyped "Wand" as "Want" every time. Weird.)

Saturday, June 2, 2012

Love Potion No. IX

From the 2005 calendar for January 9. The lips were done on the previous week. I love the "X" on the label.

Friday, June 1, 2012

Leave a light on

I originally called this drawing "Barge," but this morning I thought it looks as though someone left the lights on for a wayward soul to find its way home. This led me to thinking of Duran Duran's beautiful "Leave a Light On," so the drawing got renamed.