Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Ptero Tarot: The Priest


Monday, January 30, 2012

Ptero Tarot: Knight of Swords


Sunday, January 29, 2012

The Bridge from the Fort

The original was done with a green Flair pen on white computer paper in 1994. The highlights under the bridge were done in black. This is another of those drawings where my dissatisfaction with the final product has niggled at me over the years. This version is better, but I'm still unhappy since it looks little like the Mendota Bridge as seen from Fort Snelling, which I was attempting to draw from memory.

Saturday, January 28, 2012

Ptero Tarot: Ace of Torches


Friday, January 27, 2012

Ptero Tarot: Ace of Pentacles


Thursday, January 26, 2012

Ptero Tarot: Ace of Cups


Wednesday, January 25, 2012

Equus Fugit

In April 1992 I went to a party. My friend Dan was telling me about the tattoo he was going to get, an hourglass with the legend "Tempus Fugit" inscribed on a banner. When he finished, I asked him, "If 'tempus fugit' means 'time flies,' how do you say 'horseflies?'"

Without a pause he said, "Equus fugit."

The day after the party, I drew this. On the Monday, I made a copy and presented it to him. He looked at it, then at me, then back at my illustration. When he looked back at me he said, "So all I have to do is say it and you draw it?"

"Pretty much," I replied.

While this is one of my favorite drawings, I was never quite happy with the bare pen-and-ink version. The original lettering was awkward and too heavy for the lightness of the horse. I think that this version is closest to my original vision. Since then I've discovered that "equus fugit" is not syntactically correct (it should be "equitibus fugit," for "horse flies"), but I've decided to leave it as is. Nostalgia is a powerful force.

Dan, if you're out there somewhere, this one is still for you.

Tuesday, January 24, 2012

Paislies


Monday, January 23, 2012

Business Card Vista


Sunday, January 22, 2012

Glass Gryphon


Saturday, January 21, 2012

Lilliput


Friday, January 20, 2012

Verzillion


Thursday, January 19, 2012

Dark Prophecy


Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Dragon Afternoon


Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Pyramids


Monday, January 16, 2012

Draco Hippocampus

When I drew this in 1992, I wanted to name it in Latin, so I guessed and called it "Draco Maris Equi." Amazingly, that was correct for "sea horse dragon," but "seahorse" is one word so I've corrected the title.

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Bull


Saturday, January 14, 2012

Dana's Dragon


Friday, January 13, 2012

Phyrebyrde XIII


Thursday, January 12, 2012

The Flamingo


Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Dead in Space


Tuesday, January 10, 2012

The Bleeding Tree


Monday, January 9, 2012

Shish Kabob

This drawing was started in 1992 and not finished for two years. It was commissioned by a friend and when it was started I didn't have the skill to finish, so it rested for nearly two years while I improved. Sadly, the original is all but destroyed for the amount of reworking I had to do on it. Nonetheless, it is one of my very favorite illustrations.

Sunday, January 8, 2012

Picasso's Dragon


Saturday, January 7, 2012

The Mirror


Friday, January 6, 2012

Emergent


Thursday, January 5, 2012

A History of the Ptero Tarot: Deuce of Torches


Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Ptero Tarot: Four of Cups


Tuesday, January 3, 2012

A History of the Ptero Tarot: The Lighthouse



Monday, January 2, 2012

Pork



Sunday, January 1, 2012

Muh-muh & the Knopiks

 I have no idea how the next drawings earned the name Knopik, but the first is "Knopik Regina" and the second is "Knopik 3." Weird.